



April 19, 2024

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Priority: HIGH

Government Representatives Receive Instruments of Appointment to serve on TTBWA Board

Port of Spain--- Minister of Social Development and Family Services, Senator the Honourable Donna Cox, earlier today, appointed four members who will serve as government representatives to the Board of the Trinidad and Tobago Blind Welfare Association (TTBWA).

The presentations were made at the Ministry's head office on St Vincent Street, Port-of-Spain. Permanent Secretaries at the Ministry, Lenor Baptiste Simmons and Ryan Ramcharan, as well as Deputy Permanent Secretaries were present at the brief Ceremony.

State representatives from the Ministries of the Attorney General and Legal Affairs, Tourism, Culture and the Arts, Labour as well as TTBWA's President Felix Cazoe, and Ag. Executive Officer Lakhan Seepersad were present.

The appointments come following the expiration of the term for the last Council.

During her brief address, Minister Cox highlighted that the mandate of the Government representatives on the Council is to bolster the organization's strategic initiatives in fulfilling its service delivery to persons who are blind and visually impaired on a national level. The Minister also indicated that the Board is properly constituted and equipped with the diverse expertise to address matters concerning the community of persons who are blind and visually impaired.

Minister Cox expressed her expectation that the new tenure for these representatives will be defined by an even greater determination to expedite the delivery of social services to the community of blind and visually impaired persons in Trinidad and Tobago.

She encouraged the newly appointed members to serve with distinction and that their input can impact the lives of persons who are visually impaired and blind.

Appointees to the Board who will serve for a period of three years are:

- Mrs. Lenor Baptiste Simmons
 Permanent Secretary
 Ministry of Social Development and Family Services
- Mrs. Satie Jamraj-Marimuthu
 Director, Research and Planning
 Ministry of Tourism, Culture and the Arts

o Ms. Omalisa Baldeo

Director, Research and Planning (Ag.) Ministry of Labour

o Ms. Delisier Blackman

Legal Counsel I

Office of the Attorney General and Ministry of Legal Affairs

- END -

For more information:

Communications Unit Ministry of Social Development and Family Services (868) 623-2608; Ext 5402/5400



Senator the Honourable Donna Cox gives remarks at the Appointment Ceremony to the TTBWA Board.



(left-right) Ms Cindy Heeralal-Coordinator, NGO Unit, Deputy Permanent Secretaries Mrs Vera Deonanan-Balkaran and Mrs Wendy Guy-Hernandez, Permanent Secretary Mr Ryan Ramcharan, all of the MSDFS, also attended today's ceremony and sit alongside Minister Cox and TTBWA appointees Permanent Secretary Mrs Lenor Baptiste-Simmons -MSDFS, Mrs. Satie Jamraj-Marimuthu- MTCA, Ms. Omalisa Baldeo- MOL and Ms. Deliser Blackman-AGLA



Mrs Satie Jamraj-Marimuthu- Director, Research and Planning, Ministry of Tourism, Culture and the Arts receives her Instrument of Appointment from Minister Cox



(left to right) Ms D. Blackman- AGLA, Mrs S. Jamraj-Marimuthu-MTCA, Mrs L. Baptiste-Simmons, MSDFS and Ms O. Baldeo-MOL take a photo with Sen. the Hon. Donna Cox, Min. of SDFS after receiving their Instruments of Appointment to the TTWBA Board



Minister Cox(centre) engages with Mr. Felix Cazoe, President, TTBWA. The Government appointees to the TTBWA stand alongside them.