

## Government of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago

## Ministry of Social Development and Family Services



## **MEDIA RELEASE**

Tuesday, 12 July 2022

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Priority: HIGH

## Minister Cox distributes letters of appointment to Inter-Ministerial Social Research Council

Twenty-three persons across various Ministries, State Agencies, the Tobago House of Assembly and, the University of the West Indies received their letters of appointment to serve on the Inter-Ministerial Social Research Council (IMRC). The Letters of Appointment were presented by Senator the Honourable Donna Cox, Minister of Social Development and Family Services following a meeting with the new Council members at the Ministry's Head Office, St. Vincent Street, Port of Spain on Tuesday 12<sup>th</sup> July 2022. Also in attendance was Deputy Permanent Secretary at the Ministry, Ms. Wendy Guy-Hernandez.

The remit of the IMRC is to enhance social sector research capacity and drive the conduct of relevant research for policy-making. During a brief address, Minister Cox in thanking the members for their willingness to serve, indicated that research has become even more vital and critical particularly at this time, given the dynamic and challenging situations confronting the poor and vulnerable. Noting the IMRC's pivotal role in the achievement of the Government's National Development Strategy 2016-2030 (Vision 2030), Minister Cox further indicated that it is envisioned that the Council would continue coordinating research activities across the social sector and provide technical inputs and advice on key social projects including the National Poverty Reduction Strategy, National Register of Vulnerable Persons, COVID-19 Study and the National Disability Assessment.

The Committee is expected to serve for three (3) years and is expected to work towards developing and overseeing the implementation of the Social Sector Research Agenda, conducting an environmental scan of the Social Sector to determine critical research gaps, developing and maintaining a database of social research, establishing a Social Sector Research Information System for sharing of information, strengthening the internal capacity of research units within the Social Sector, facilitating the nexus between research and policy; and developing strategic partnerships between the public and private sectors and civil society for research purposes.

The Committee comprises the following persons:

- Mr. Seon Raymond Ministry of Social Development and Family Services (Chairperson)
- Dr. Althea La Foucade The University of the West Indies (Deputy Chairperson);

Colonial Life Building, 39-43 St. Vincent Street, Port of Spain, Trinidad, W.I. Telephone: (868)-623-2608

www.social.gov.tt Follow us: Facebook

- Mrs. Melissa Williams-Campbell Ministry of Social Development and Family Services (Secretary)
- Ms. Shanmatee Singh Ng Sang and Ms. Omalisa Baldeo Ministry of Labour;
- Ms. Crista Elcock and Ms. Victoria Rampersad Ministry of Youth Development and National Service;
- Mrs. Julia Ramirez-Modeste and Ms. Jermaine Williams Ministry of Education;
- Ms. Ann Belmontes Ministry of Sport and Community Development;
- Mr. Lawrence Jaisingh and Ms. Cindi Siewdass Ministry of Health;
- Mr. Andre Blanchard and Ms. Erica Fortune Ministry of Planning and Development;
- Ms. Satie Jamraj-Marimuthu and Ms. Kate Chotack Ministry of Tourism, Culture and the Arts;
- Ms. Jose-Ann Hackett Tobago House of Assembly;
- Dr. Christine Laptiste The University of the West Indies (UWI);
- Ms. Misha Ali and Ms. Alicia Abraham Ministry of Housing and Urban Development;
- Mr. Makandal Caesar and Ms. Candice Mc Kenzie Office of the Prime Minister Gender and Child Affairs Division;
- A representative of the Children's Authority of Trinidad and Tobago.



Minister Cox, Deputy Permanent Secretary Ms. Wendy Guy-Hernandez, (second right) and members of the newly installed Inter-Ministerial Social Research Council.



Minister Cox presents the letter of appointment to Mr Seon Raymond, Director of the Social Investigations Division of the MSDFS. Mr Raymond will serve as the Chairperson of the Inter-Ministerial Social Research Council (IMRC).



 ${\it Minister~Cox~addresses~members~of~the~Inter-Ministerial~Social~Research~Council~(IMRC)}.$